Alexander Papp is a British/Hungarian composer who holds a scholarship to study composition at the Royal Academy of Music with Phil Cashian and Rubens Askenar with the support of the Vaughan Williams Foundation and the Countess of Munster Musical Trust. Based in London, he writes both acoustic and electro-acoustic music for the concert hall.

In 2020 Alex was the recipient of the Rushworth Composition Prize, culminating in a performance by Ensemble 10/10 in the Liverpool Philharmonic Hall. As well as this, his fanfare was selected by the Ernest Read Symphony Orchestra as the winner of their emerging composer prize, resulting in a commission for the orchestra. He was part of the 2022 LCO New cohort, having a piece premiered by the London Chamber Orchestra in St John’s Smith Square, London. Recently Alex was part of the Cheltenham Festival Composium in July 2023 writing for the Carice Singers.

His work has been performed at Wigmore Hall, Liverpool Philharmonic Hall , St John’s Smith Square, Purcell Room, Southbank Centre, Konzerthalle Frankfurt Oder , St James Church, Paddington, Kings Lynn Festival, St John’s Church, Waterloo, The Deal Festival, The New Auditorium, Glasgow, The Fitzwilliam Museum and West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge.

Upcoming performances are in Catalonia, Spain and Spitalfields Music Festival. Alex has also been commissioned to write new pieces for the Brandenburgishes Staatsorchester, Frankfurt in 2024/25.

Summer courses he has attended include the Advanced Composition Course with Nico Muhly at Dartington Music Summer School and he was invited to observe the 4th International Young Composers Academy Ticino Musica with Oscar Bianchi and Francesca Verunelli. 

As a conductor, Alex has had lessons with Dominic Grier and Sian Edwards and worked with Toby Purser at Aberystwyth Musicfest. He has conducted his own work and that of his peers, recently conducting his first opera The Prisoner  written by William Gardner and Matthew Green

Alexander Papp Composer and Conductor - Masters student at Royal Academy of Music